My Turbaning Ceremony as the Turaki of Ilorin Emirate

Saliu Mustapha
1 min readSep 18, 2021

--

Dear Friends

On the authority of the Emir of Ilorin, His Royal Highness, Alhaji (Dr.) Ibrahim Zulu-Gambari, CFR, I am pleased to inform you that my turbaning (coronation) as the Turaki of Ilorin has been scheduled for Friday, 15th October, 2021.

The traditional title of Turaki holds a special place in the socio-cultural system of the Ilorin Emirate, as well as other emirates across northern Nigeria.

This is why the appointment of the Turaki is celebrated amidst pomp and pageantry, giving our people from various backgrounds a rare avenue to come together in celebration of the beauty of our culture and tradition.

My family and I humbly request that you join us in prayers to the almighty Allah to uphold the day for us.

I sincerely hope that you will be able to attend this prestigious event and I look forward to hosting you.

Thank you.

Saliu Mustapha

Turaki of Ilorin Emirate

18–09–2021

--

--